Lisa in Luik

Emigreren naar België

Scammer-de-scam 16 juli 2009

Filed under: Lisa's leven in Luik! — misssmokygaatstoppen @ 1:08 am
Tags: , ,

Vanavond was ik aan het koken, toen mijn mobieltje rinkelde. Een onbekend nummer. ‘Hallo?’ zei ik.

‘Hi, is this Lisa? Lisa Coster?’ vroeg een jongeman mij met een Amerikaans accent.

‘Yes, who is this?’ vroeg ik.

De jongeman begon enthousiast te vertellen. ‘My name is Dan and I am phoning you from America to inform you that you have been selected for a FREE vacation to Florida including a cruise to the Bahama’s! Isn’t that great?’

‘Eh, yes, that’s great, but what’s the catch?’ vroeg ik argwanend.

Hij ging vrolijk verder. ‘There IS no catch! You filled in a form on internet to win this vacation and I am telling you you won! How about that?’ Hij klonk vriendelijk en oprecht en begon een heel verhaal. Wat de vakantie inhield, vanuit welk bedrijf hij belde, hij noemde namen van hotels en ik zou ook gratis kaarten krijgen voor Disney World. Alles was heel gedetailleerd. Even tussendoor informeerde hij of ik een creditcard had. En of ik getrouwd was.

‘It sounds like bullsh*t to me.’

Hij moest lachen: ‘I’m hearing that a lot today!’ (daaruit bleek al dat ik niet de enige geselecteerde was, ha!) Maar ik was nieuwsgierig en wilde weten wat die ‘catch’ was. Nou, daar kwam-ie dan. ‘We offer you 85% of this vacation!’

‘So I pay 15%? How much would that be then?’

Blije Dan vervolgde: ‘I don’t know exactly. They just give us a this information, plus the phonenumbers we should call. If you want more information, I will put you through with the manager, allright?’

‘Sure.’

Ik werd doorverbonden. Een net iets minder sympathiek klinkende man begon te praten. Hij had een beetje een nare stem. ‘Hi, is this Lisa? This is John! Congratulations, dear!’

‘I’m sorry, but I don’t believe I’m getting anything for free here.’

‘Well dear, you’re right. It’s a promotion. We offer you a holiday worth 3000 dollars and you only pay us 998 dollars. Do you have a credit card?’

‘Sorry, I’m very sceptical. I’m sure I was not selected and that you guys are calling everybody all day long.’

John begon een beetje geïrriteerd te worden. ‘If you’re not excited, dear, we wouldn’t want you to come.’

Ik vroeg of ik een internetadres mocht hebben, hij gaf me de naam www.flafunvacations en ineens was het tuut-tuut-tuut. John had opgehangen. 

The end.

En o ja, die website bestaat niet. Wél zijn er heleboel websites die je waarschuwen voor deze scam die al jaren wordt toegepast…

 

9 Responses to “Scammer-de-scam”

  1. Emily May Says:

    erg toch. M’n ex-schoonmoeder zou er zo ingetrapt zijn.

  2. Etienne Says:

    Mag ik het tlnummer van mijn ex schoonmoeder doorgeven a.u.b ?

  3. lisainluik Says:

    🙂

  4. annemarie Says:

    Hee, lang niet gezien en gesproken.
    Ik heb een jaar of drie geleden precies hetzelfde meegemaakt; ik werd midden in de nacht gebeld door een Amerikaanse die vroeg of ik niet gratis naar NY wilde? Ja, tuurlijk wel. Bleek ook een scam.
    Hier in boring Hoofddorp wordt je blog trouwens nog regelmatig gelezen.
    Hoop dat alles goed met je gaat.

    Groet,
    Annemarie en Mariska (de laatste wil nog even laten weten dat ze op 8 augustus waarschijnlijk in Luik is)

  5. lisainluik Says:

    Heee Annemarie, dat is inderdaad lang geleden! Leuk dat een ex-Flairdertje reageert. Jij ook al doelwit van gewetenloze scamartiesten? Je hebt hopelijk geen geld gegeven? Enne, hoe gaat het verder met je?

    Doe iedereen daar de groeten en komt Mariska nog langs als ze in Luik is?

    x

  6. Elizabeth Says:

    I just had the exact same conversation with a Holly! When I started to request more details etc she passed me off to another person, Lisa and she was just plain rude to me! Then when I started to make her talk in circles and have BS answers to my questions she became so frustrated with me she just hung up!
    It just makes me sick to think that this goes on and some folks would actually get caught in this, give their credit card numbers and be ROBBED! I truly wish we could stop this kind of crap from happening.
    Elizabeth

  7. melanie Says:

    my partner had done an on line comp+then for the fast wk we had been having phone calls from people with american accents.then 2day,my partner took the call.”you have won a carribean cruise 4 4″,says this man,he went on 2 explain this free holiday BUT he just wanted credit card details 2 pay for flights£489.00.yea right.mt partner said he would have 2 discus with me 1st.the man got pritty angry,so mt partner asked 4 a number.the man gave us this web page+the number is-0018008610854.i phoned this number+the office was closed till monday……………..b carefull,please.

  8. melanie Says:

    the man we spoke 2 said his name was DONALD DAVIES,such a common name so we could never find him.im worried 4 the elderly people as these profesional RIP OFFS really do know how 2 BLAGG.they need 2 b stopped,thats y i am writtin this.

  9. sandra Says:

    hello everybody!1we had a call like this too today.And i feel so stupid we gave them the bank information cuz it soundet so good.but they told us that the card isnt working.and then they gave us the name and the webside.i just looked at it and the only thing what i could find was ur guys comments.So i wrote all ur stuff and called the bank.they try to take it out.so my husband is now on his way to take all the money off the account.We r in Germany and the bank is already closed.I hope we can fix that tomorrow when the bank is open again.I feel sooooo stupid.


Geef een reactie

